image : Karen Dillon

Karen Dillon

Karen Dillon is the former editor of Harvard Business Review magazine and co-author of 3 books with Clayton Christensen: "The Prosperity Paradox: How Innovation Can Lift Nations Out of Poverty"; Wall Street Journal best-seller "Competing Against Luck: The Story of Innovation and Customer Choice"; and New York Times best-seller "How Will You Measure Your Life?"She is also the author of "The Harvard Business Review Guide to Office Politics". She collaborated with Daniel Isenberg on his book "Worthless, Impossible, Stupid: How Contrarian Entrepreneurs Create and Capture Extraordinary Value". A graduate of Cornell University and Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism, she was named by Ashoka as one of the world's most influential and inspiring women and a ''top influencer'' by Product Management Review in 2016. She is currently a contributing editor to Harvard Business Review and Editorial Director of BanyanGlobal Family Business Advisors. Follow her on Twitter @KarDillon

The Best 5 Books on Karen Dillon

image Clayton M. Christensen

How Will You Measure Your Life?

From the world’s leading thinker on innovation and New York Times bestselling author of The Innovator’s Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen, comes an unconventional book of inspiration and wisdom for achieving a fulfilling life. Christensen’s The Innovator’s Dilemma, notably the only business book that Apple’s Steve Jobs said “deeply influenced” him, is widely recognized as one of the most significant business books ever published. Now, in the tradition of Randy Pausch’s The Last Lecture and Anna Quindlen’s A Short Guide to a Happy Life, Christensen’s How Will You Measure Your Life is with a book of lucid observations and penetrating insights designed to help any reader—student or teacher, mid-career professional or retiree, parent or child—forge their own paths to fulfillment.
Read More
image Clayton M. Christensen

Competing Against Luck: The Story of Innovation and Customer Choice

The foremost authority on innovation and growth presents a path-breaking book every company needs to transform innovation from a game of chance to one in which they develop products and services customers not only want to buy, but are willing to pay premium prices for.

How do companies know how to grow? How can they create products that they are sure customers want to buy? Can innovation be more than a game of hit and miss? Harvard Business School professor Clayton Christensen has the answer. A generation ago, Christensen revolutionized business with his groundbreaking theory of disruptive innovation. Now, he goes further, offering powerful new insights.

After years of research, Christensen and his co-authors have come to one critical conclusion: our long held maxim--that understanding the customer is the crux of innovation--is wrong. Customers don't buy products or services; they "hire" them to do a job. Understanding customers does not drive innovation success, he argues. Understanding customer jobs does. The "Jobs to Be Done" approach can be seen in some of the world's most respected companies and fast-growing startups, including Amazon, Intuit, Uber, Airbnb, and Chobani yogurt, to name just a few. But this book is not about celebrating these successes--it's about predicting new ones.

Christensen, Hall, Dillon, and Duncan contend that by understanding what causes customers to "hire" a product or service, any business can improve its innovation track record, creating products that customers not only want to hire, but that they'll pay premium prices to bring into their lives. Jobs theory offers new hope for growth to companies frustrated by their hit and miss efforts.

This book carefully lays down the authors' provocative framework, providing a comprehensive explanation of the theory and why it is predictive, how to use it in the real world--and, most importantly, how not to squander the insights it provides.
Read More
image Karen Dillon

HBR Guide to Managing Up and Across (HBR Guide Series)

ARE YOUR WORKING RELATIONSHIPS WORKING AGAINST YOU?

To achieve your goals and get ahead, you need to rally people behind you and your ideas. But how do you do that when you lack formal authority? Or when you have a boss who gets in your way? Or when you’re juggling others’ needs at the expense of your own?

By managing up, down, and across the organization. Your success depends on it, whether you’re a young professional or an experienced leader.

The HBR Guide to Managing Up and Across will help you:

  • Advance your agenda―and your career―with smarter networking
  • Build relationships that bring targets and deadlines within reach
  • Persuade decision makers to champion your initiatives
  • Collaborate more effectively with colleagues
  • Deal with new, challenging, or incompetent bosses
  • Navigate office politics

Read More
image Karen Dillon

HBR Guide to Finance Basics for Managers (HBR Guide Series)

DON’T LET YOUR FEAR OF FINANCE GET IN THE WAY OF YOUR SUCCESS

Can you prepare a breakeven analysis? Do you know the difference between an income statement and a balance sheet? Or understand why a business that’s profitable can still go belly-up? Has your grasp of your company’s numbers helped―or hurt―your career?

Whether you’re new to finance or you just need a refresher, this go-to guide will give you the tools and confidence you need to master the fundamentals, as all good managers must.

The HBR Guide to Finance Basics for Managers will help you:

  • Learn the language of finance
  • Compare your firm’s financials with rivals’
  • Shift your team’s focus from revenues to profits
  • Assess your vulnerability to industry downturns
  • Use financial data to defend budget requests
  • Invest smartly through cost/benefit analysis

Read More
image Karen Dillon

HBR Guide to Office Politics (HBR Guide Series)

Don’t let destructive drama sideline your career.

Every organization has its share of political drama: Personalities clash. Agendas compete. Turf wars erupt. But you need to work productively with your colleagues―even difficult ones―for the good of your organization and your career. How can you do that without compromising your personal values? By acknowledging that power dynamics and unwritten rules exist―and navigating them constructively.

The HBR Guide to Office Politics will help you succeed at work without being a power grabber or a corporate climber. Instead you’ll cultivate a political strategy that’s authentic to you. You’ll learn how to:

  • Gain influence without losing your integrity
  • Contend with backstabbers and bullies
  • Work through tough conversations
  • Manage tensions when resources are scarce
  • Get your share of choice assignments
  • Accept that not all conflict is bad

Arm yourself with the advice you need to succeed on the job, from a source you trust. Packed with how-to essentials from leading experts, the HBR Guides provide smart answers to your most pressing work challenges.

Read More

IF YOU’D LIKE TO LEARN MORE ABOUT KAREN DILLON, YOU CAN FIND HIM ON HIS Website, Facebook , Twitter , Instagram AND Youtube