image : Paul Kalanithi

Paul Kalanithi

PAUL KALANITHI was a neurosurgeon and writer. He graduated from Stanford with a B.A. and M.A. in English literature and a B.A. in human biology. He earned an M.Phil in the history and philosophy of science and medicine from Cambridge and graduated cum laude from the Yale School of Medicine, where he was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha national medical honor society. He returned to Stanford to complete his residency training in neurological surgery and a postdoctoral fellowship in neuroscience, and received the American Academy of Neurological Surgery's highest award for resident research. He died in March 2015. He is survived by his family, including his wife Lucy, and their daughter Elizabeth Acadia.

The Best 7 Books on Paul Kalanithi

image Paul Kalanithi

When breath becomes air, being mortal and where does it hurt 3 books collection set

When breath becomes air, being mortal and where does it hurt 3 books collection set. Description:- When Breath Becomes Air At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, the next he was a patient struggling to live. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a medical student asking what makes a virtuous and meaningful life into a neurosurgeon working in the core of human identity - the brain - and finally into a patient and a new father. Being Mortal: Illness, Medicine and What Matters in the End For most of human history, death was a common, ever-present possibility. It didn't matter whether you were five or fifty - every day was a roll of the dice. But now, as medical advances push the boundaries of survival further each year, we have become increasingly detached from the reality of being mortal. So here is a book about the modern experience of mortality - about what it's like to get old and die, how medicine has changed this and how it hasn't, where our ideas about death have gone wrong. With his trademark mix of perceptiveness and sensitivity, Atul Gawande outlines a story that crosses the globe, as he examines his experiences as a surgeon and those of his patients and family, and learns to accept the limits of what he can do. Where Does it Hurt?: What the Junior Doctor did next He's into his second year of medicine, but this time Max is out of the wards and onto the streets, working for the Phoenix Outreach Project.Fuelled by tea and more enthusiasm than experience, he attempts to locate and treat a wide and colourful range of patients that somehow his first year on the wards didn't prepare him for . . . from Molly the 80-year-old drugs mule and God in a Tesco car park, to middle-class mums addicted to appearances and pain killers in equal measure.
Read More
image Paul Kalanithi

When Breath Becomes Air

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The New York Times Book Review • People • NPR • The Washington Post • Slate • Harper’s Bazaar • Time Out New York • Publishers Weekly • BookPage

Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a naïve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.
Read More
image Paul Kalanithi

El buen doctor (Spanish Edition)

Paul Kalanithi, a young and promising neurosurgeon, received a devastating diagnosis of stage IV lung cancer at the age of thirty-six. He was a doctor treating patients one day and the next was struggling for his own life. On the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training, he decided to begin writing this book to come to terms with and give closure to his life, and to face death with courage. What makes a life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder towards your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are a few of the questions Kulanithi wrestles with in this moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi passed away in March 2015, yet his words live on as a guide and gift to us all. Simultaneously a reminder of the fragility of our existence as well as a plea for a brave and vigorous life, El buen doctor will inspire all readers. 
Read More
image Paul Kalanithi

When breath becomes air, being mortal and your life in my hands 3 books collection set

When breath becomes air, being mortal and your life in my hands 3 books collection set. Description: When Breath Becomes Air At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, the next he was a patient struggling to live. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a medical student asking what makes a virtuous and meaningful life into a neurosurgeon working in the core of human identity. Being Mortal: Illness, Medicine and What Matters in the End For most of human history, death was a common, ever-present possibility. It didn't matter whether you were five or fifty - every day was a roll of the dice. But now, as medical advances push the boundaries of survival further each year, we have become increasingly detached from the reality of being mortal. So here is a book about the modern experience of mortality - about what it's like to get old and die, how medicine has changed this and how it hasn't, where our ideas about death have gone wrong. With his trademark mix of perceptiveness and sensitivity, Atul Gawande outlines a story that crosses the globe, as he examines his experiences as a surgeon and those of his patients and family, and learns to accept the limits of what he can do. Your Life In My Hands: A Junior Doctor's Story In Your Life in My Hands, television journalist turned junior doctor Rachel Clarke captures the extraordinary realities of life on the NHS frontline. During last year's historic junior doctor strikes, Rachel was at the forefront of the campaign against the government's imposed contract upon young doctors. Her heartfelt, deeply personal account of life as a junior doctor in today's NHS is both a powerful polemic on the degradation of Britain's most vital public institution and a love letter of optimism and hope to that same health service.
Read More
image Paul Kalanithi

O Ultimo Sopro de Vida (Em Portugues do Brasil)

Aos 36 anos, Paul Kalanithi foi diagnosticado com um cancer incuravel. Neurocirurgiao brilhante, de repente se viu diante de uma cruel inversao de papeis: num dia era o medico tratando de pacientes com problemas graves, no outro era o paciente lutando pela propria sobrevivencia.

O ultimo sopro de vida narra a trajetoria de Paul ao longo do tratamento a descoberta da doenca, a esperanca de uma possivel remissao, a incerteza quanto ao futuro, a decisao de se tornar pai, a consciencia do fim, a angustia de se despedir da vida antes da hora.

Sua narrativa e honesta, pungente. Mas, ao mesmo tempo, poetica e delicada. Amante da literatura e da filosofia, Paul desde sempre buscou entender a relacao entre a vida e a morte, a identidade e a consciencia, a etica e a virtude. Seus questionamentos profundos encontram eco em nossas proprias reflexoes: afinal, o que faz a vida valer a pena?

Paul morreu em marco de 2015. Deixou como legado uma filha de oito meses e o manuscrito inacabado deste livro. Quem escreveu as paginas finais e encaminhou o texto para publicacao foi sua esposa, Lucy, atendendo ao ultimo desejo do marido.
Read More

IF YOU’D LIKE TO LEARN MORE ABOUT PAUL KALANITHI, YOU CAN FIND HIM ON HIS Website, Facebook , Twitter , Instagram AND Youtube